SIMSA Premieres "The Original Eight" Video on Its Formation

March 30, 2023

A video detailing the formation of the Saskatchewan Industrial and Mining Suppliers Association (SIMSA) premiered at the SIMSA’s 10th Anniversary on March 30th, with over 300 people in attendance. The title – “The Original Eight” – reflects that there were 8-persons who founded SIMSA.

The 15-minute video created by Saskatoon’s Honey Cut Studios – can be seen here –  It details how and more importantly why SIMSA was created, and became well-staged to grow to over 300 members today.

The video is a compilation of interviews with SIMSA’s 8 founders:

  • Bruce Lyle – GMR Electric Motors Ltd.
  • Dwaine Friesen – AJ Machine
  • Dwayne Howatt – Continental Mine and Industrial Supply (CMI)
  • Francis Nagy – Deca Industries
  • Jim Nowakowski – JNE Welding
  • Ken Cenaiko – Croatia Industries
  • Jim Thompson – Brandt Industries
  • Tom Foster – Industrial Machine and Manufacturing (IMM)